NEWS | Feb. 10, 2015

2014 Omaha Trophy Winners Announced

By U.S. Strategic Command Public Affairs

OFFUTT AIR FORCE BASE, Neb. – In recognition of outstanding support to U.S. Strategic Command’s global strategic deterrence, space and cyberspace missions, U.S. Navy Adm. Cecil D. Haney, USSTRATCOM commander, announced the winners of the 2014 Omaha Trophy in the Intercontinental Ballistic Missile, Submarine Ballistic Missile, and Global Operations categories. Haney made the announcement during the Nuclear Task Force Commander’s Conference at USSTRATCOM headquarters, Feb. 5, 2015.

The Omaha Trophy, which dates back to the U.S. Air Force’s Strategic Air Command, was originally created by the Strategic Command Consultation (SCC) Committee in 1971. At the time, a single trophy was presented annually as a token of appreciation to the command’s best wing.

Since then, the tradition has evolved to unit-level awards that celebrate USSTRATCOM’s premier intercontinental ballistic missile wing, ballistic missile submarine, strategic airlift wing and global operations (space/cyberspace) unit. Those receiving awards represent units throughout USSTRATCOM which are critical to fulfilling the combatant command's primary mission: to detect, deter and prevent strategic attacks against the United States and our allies.

During his announcement, Adm. Haney praised the organizations for demonstrating “the highest standards of performance in support of USSTRATCOM’s diverse missions.”

“We applaud the members of these professional units, and extend our heartiest congratulations on their selection for this prestigious award,” he said. “I am proud of your contributions to our nation’s defense.”

Ken Stinson, SCC chairman, said he is “proud to recognize the 2014 Omaha Trophy winners on behalf of the great city of Omaha and the surrounding communities.”

“Congratulations and thank you for keeping our nation safe,” he added.

The 2014 Omaha Trophy recipient organizations announced were:
- Global Operations Trophy: The 50th Space Wing, Schriever Air Force Base, Colorado
- Ballistic Missile Submarine Trophy: The USS Alaska (SSBN 732), Naval Submarine Base Kings     Bay, Georgia
- ICBM Trophy: The 91st Missile Wing, Minot Air Force Base, North Dakota