NEWS | April 5, 2013

USSTRATCOM Announces Omaha Trophy Winners

By U.S. Strategic Command Public Affairs

OFFUTT AIR FORCE BASE, Neb. - Gen. C. Robert Kehler, Commander, U.S. Strategic Command, recently announced the 2012 Omaha Trophy winners, an honor awarded annually to military units demonstrating the highest performance standards in USSTRATCOM's mission areas. Selections are based on formal evaluations, meritorious achievement, safety, and other factors such as community involvement and humanitarian actions. The winners are:

  • Global Operations Trophy: 50th Space Wing, Schriever Air Force Base, Colo.
  • Intercontinental Ballistic Missile Trophy: 90th Missile Wing, F.E. Warren Air Force Base, Wyo.
  • Submarine Ballistic Missile Trophy: USS ALASKA (SSBN 732), Naval Submarine Base, Kings Bay, Ga.
  • Strategic Aircraft Operations Trophy: Strategic Communications Wing One, Tinker Air Force Base, Okla.

Each year, Omaha's Strategic Command Consultation Committee sponsors the Omaha Trophy in recognizing four outstanding units. The categories reflect the command's primary lines of operation, continued emphasis on strategic deterrence, and their evolving role in global operations. The former Strategic Air Command Consultation Committee first presented the Omaha Trophy as a single trophy to the Strategic Air Command in 1971 on behalf of the citizens of Omaha. The number of awards increased over the years as the commands missions and organizational structure changed.