NEWS | May 31, 2007

Omaha Trophy winners announced


OFFUTT AIR FORCE BASE, Neb. - The 2006 Omaha Trophy award winners were announced today. The results are as follows:

- Intercontinental Ballistic Missile Command trophy: 90th Space Wing, F.E. Warren Air Force Base, Wyoming

- Strategic Aircraft Operations Trophy: 509th Bomb Wing, Whiteman Air Force Base, Missouri

- Submarine Ballistic Missile Trophy: USS LOUISIANA (SSBN 743), Naval Base Kitsap, Washington.

- Strategic Space and Information Ops Trophy: Joint Task Force Global Network Operations, Arlington, Virginia.

The award is presented annually to U.S. Strategic Command units demonstrating the highest standards of performance. Selection for the award is based on formal evaluations, meritorious achievement, safety, and other factors such as community involvement and humanitarian actions.

"It's an honor to award these trophies to this year's best of the best," said General James Cartwright, U.S. Strategic Command commander. "All of the award nominations were deserving, but these winning units were outstanding in their contributions to the security and defense of our great Nation. "

The Omaha Trophy was presented to the Strategic Air Command (SAC) in 1971 on behalf of the citizens of Omaha, by the SAC Consultation Committee, with the request that it be awarded annually to the outstanding SAC wing. From 1992-1997, two categories were created; one for aircraft and one for a ballistic missile unit. In 1998, the Omaha

Trophy was expanded to three categories: intercontinental ballistic missile trophy, submarine ballistic missile command trophy, and strategic aircraft operations trophy. A fourth category, the strategic space and information operations trophy, was added in 2003.